The Linux Foundation Projects
Skip to main content

Lars Gleim

Senior Research Engineer

Huawei

GitHub: https://github.com/lgleim
Discord: lgleim / Lars Gleim [Huawei]
LinkedIn: https://www.linkedin.com/in/lars-gleim

Success in 3D requires multi-dimensional talent. As a Senior Research Engineer at the Huawei Munich Research Center and Chair of O3DE SIG Simulation, Lars Gleim strives to apply his network and insights to add that depth to everything he works on. He joined us to share his passion for all things 3D—development, community, and beyond.

What is your current role?

I’m currently a senior research engineer at Huawei’s Munich Research Center in the cloud robotics lab, where we are building software for simulation and cloud-native operation of robots. As you can hear from my accent, I am German and previously completed my Ph.D. studies in computer science at RWTH Aachen University, where I was building systems and architecture for data management, basically inter-organizational cloud edge scenarios. I’m also the O3DE SIG Simulation chair.

What is your experience with open source, and what do you find appealing about working in open-source communities? 

I had something that I would describe as a typical journey into open source. Initially, I benefited from open-source software as a longtime user, starting out with the best of applications, such as GIMP as an alternative to Photoshop or Notepad++, and then eventually started engaging with open-source projects through filing issues and starting conversations with the developers. I found this much more engaging than working with commercial software, where usually you don’t have any way to really interact with the support of the developers unless you have a commercial support subscription.