The Linux Foundation Projects
Skip to main content

Matteo Grasso

Founder

DIGIBL Studio – Digital Basil Leaves

Open source presents a great opportunity for learning. Matteo Grasso, software engineer and founder of DIGIBL Studio in Italy, is leading his company on the path to creating tools and resources to assist students, teachers, employees, and developers when it comes to new learning techniques. In this interview, Matteo discusses how he came to Open 3D Engine (O3DE), the projects he is working on, and the ways newcomers can benefit from the tools.

Tell us a little bit about yourself.
I am a software developer with a strong passion for innovative technologies and video games. I’m interested in all those “unconventional” ways to use game mechanics—such as serious gaming, gamification, etc.—rather than for entertainment purposes only.

After earning a computer engineering degree, I worked as an IT consultant for nearly a decade, experiencing several software technologies and infrastructures. Recently, I had the opportunity to take my career to the next level, combining my earlier experience with my passion for video games to start my own game studio.

The goal is to help people along their learning process, providing innovative solutions based on video games to accelerate the achievement of new skills.

How did you hear about Open 3D Engine?
I discovered O3DE when I found the announcement of the project while browsing the technology news back in July 2021. It piqued my interest because there were big names in the announcement that were supporting and contributing to the project. Since I use Linux and other open source software daily, seeing that the Linux Foundation has a key part in creating a full open source solution for game development pushes me to say, “OK, let’s try and see what O3DE can offer.”

Tell us a little bit about your passion behind helping people learn.